Tumetoka Mbali – Social Media Day 30th June 2014 #SMDayKE

Enyewe tumetoka mbali!

I remember when I first got online all I knew was Yahoo email. And Books First was the place to go for internet. That was back in 2000. Now the internet is a part of you. As in ni kama kuvaa nguo!

I remember getting permission from school to go to the local post office to access internet from their fancy new computer boxes and satellite internet. You remember those boxes? Too bad there ain’t any photos online to remind you. It used to be like 10 shillings per minute or something and you had to utilise those minutes carefully. Check your email, see if anyone emailed you from the US or something.

Then came blogging. I discovered blogger.com. And read other blogs. Wah, those were the days.

I remember the first time accessing Twitter on my phone and it looked so so strange. I didn’t understand it at all. Eti micro-blogging? What the hell?? Soon after in 2009 I started tweeting. And got hooked!

But the one that caught us all by storm was FACEBOOK! We facebooked all the time. We were facebook junkies.

Comments were the in thing. Having endless debates with friends on facebook was the preferred passtime in the evenings after a long day at work and evening classes. I used to have that slim Nokia sijui what. I loved that phone. The EDGE speeds were much better and the keys were soft and the screen was pretty and not as grainy as my previous phones.

Nowadays the thought of using a 123-keypad phone is dreadful!

#TumetokaMbali kweli!

Social Media day is 30th June 2014.

Enjoy technology progress! In the mean time, ebu sponsor me I want that Nokia XL. But even this fancy new Huawei Ascend P7 si mbaya. Its only 55K. Any takers? Mpesa inafanya, kuna Orange Money, you know, ata Pesapal ni sawa tu! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

